Initialize-CSSite command not working while installing Sitecore Commerce. What was it and how I fixed it

Recently I have set a Sitecore Commerce instance on Sitecore 8.2 update 1 following this guideline. When I got to the section of setting up the Commerce Server I ran into this instruction that suggests the following:

“Open a PowerShell window and navigate to your Sitecore website directory. Run the Initialize-CSSite command.”

And so I did it and got the following error which I posted at Sitecore StackExchange: “The operation cannot be performed because this Commerce Server instance has not been configured. Please run CSConfig.exe to configure Commerce Server”. When I ran the CSConfig.exe command I got another error “The term ‘CSConfig.exe’ is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program.”

The CSConfig not being recognized was an indication that something went wrong on the installation of the Commercer Server.

After troubleshooting I revisited the steps I had taken so far and tried uninstalling Commerce Server and installing it again. This time I installed with elevated privileges and noted that on the wizard step “Staging Service” if I selected any other users, even administrator users and clicked the ok button the installer would say installation complete(weird I know but that’s what I saw). When I tried again and this time selected the default account which was the one I logged into Windows the wizard would continue and displaying messages indicating progress. After a few seconds it would complete successfully.

After that I was able to run the Initialize-CSSSite command and resume with the installation of the commerce instance.

 

Leave a Reply

